Louisiana Small Business Award Winners Named, New Fellows Chosen for Louisiana Bar Foundation, Breazeale, Sachse Partner Elected to National Board | Company


Melissa Smithrespiratory therapist at Lakeview Regional Medical Center, a campus of Tulane Medical Center, was named Outstanding Respiratory Therapist of the Year by the Louisiana Society for Respiratory Care.

Lakeview Regional was also named Hospital of the Year for Respiratory Care in the Hospitals with Less Than 200 Beds category.

Smith has worked as a respiratory therapist for 35 years caring for neonatal, pediatric and adult patients with lung disorders. She is Lakeview’s Respiratory Educator and a qualified Smoking Cessation Counselor.

Emily Black Graypartner in the Baton Rouge office of Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, was elected to the American Health Law Association’s Board of Directors for a three-year term.

Gray is director of the company’s health care section.

AHLA is the nation’s largest nonpartisan educational organization devoted to legal issues in health care.

Stan Levyfounder and CEO of Baton Rouge-based agency SASSO, served on the judging panel for the 43rd Annual Telly Awards.

Dedicated to uncovering excellence in video and television across all screens, the Telly Awards receives more than 12,000 nominations from advertising agencies, television stations, production companies and publishers around the world. .

Levy founded SASSO in 2011 and grew the company into an award-winning agency.

He graduated from the Manship School of Mass Communications at LSU.

Louisiana Economic Development and the US Small Business Administration recently honored business owners and supporters at the 2022 Louisiana Small Business Awards ceremony.

The 2022 winners are:

2022 SBA Champion Award Recipients

8(a) Graduate of the Year: Keith O’Neil Porta, APC ConstructionHarvey

Entrepreneurial Success Award: Brittney Dunn, Brittney Dunn CPAShreveport

Minority Small Business Champion: Fallon Evans, Skye’s JanitorNew Orleans

Small Business Veteran of the Year: Dr. Carla Antoine, Life Towne Center for VeteransBout

Women’s Business Champion: Willie C. Johnson and Kimberly Bardell, WCJ ConsultantsRed Stick

Young Entrepreneurs of the Year: Avery Bell, Jared Johnson, Corey McCoy and Tre’Jan Vinson, KOK ConsolidatedLafayette

SBDC Center of Excellence and Innovation Awards: Heidi Melancon and Jimmy Nguyen, LSBDC at Nicholls State UniversityThibodaux

Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery by a Volunteer: Howie Kaplan, The Howling WolfNew Orleans

Phoenix Award for Outstanding Contributions to Disaster Recovery by a Public Official: Mayor Nic E. HunterLake Charles

Twice a day we’ll send you the day’s headlines. Register today.

LED Entrepreneur Awards 2022

LED Emerging Small Business of the Year: Lameika Washington, Diamond Security ServicesRed Stick

DEL Awards for Outstanding Graduates in Small and Emerging Business Development: Elizabeth Shephard, LifeCity, L3CNew Orleans

LEDC Bank of the Year: Hartley Crunk, Hancock WhitneyNew Orleans

Hudson Champions and Veterans: Commissioner Jim DonelonInsurance Department; Major General D. Keith WaddellDepartment of Military Affairs; Casey TingleGovernor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness

Louisiana Procurement Technical Assistance Center Contractor of the Year: Justin Reeves, Justin J. ReevesHouma

Louisiana Small Maker Award Manufacturing Expansion Partnership: Leonard Carmouche, GEM CompanyPrairieville

National Federation of Independent Business Small Business Champion Awards: Clint and Danny Graham, Lincoln BuildersRuston

USDA Rural Development Lender of the Year: Derek Chaisson, United Community Bankraceland

USDA Rural Development Borrower of the Year: Richard Hope, Advanced Welding Schoolwalker

Louisiana Small Business of the Year: Craig A. Stevens, Genesis 360Red Stick

New fellows have been named for the Louisiana Bar Foundation.

In greater New Orleans, Travis Beatonan attorney for Sher Garner Cahill Richter Klein & Hilbert; 24th Judicial District Judge Frank A. Brindisi and 24th Judicial District Judge Stephen Enright Jr. were named fellows.

In Baton Rouge, Talya Bergeronan attorney from the Southeast Louisiana Legal Services Corporation was appointed as a member.

At La Fayette, Pam Landaiche and Marilyn Lopezboth from the Lafayette Bar Foundation, were named Fellows.

McKinsey Nicholas Boys and Girls Clubs of Acadiana, was named Louisiana Youth of the Year by Boys and Girls Clubs of America.

Nicholas will receive a $2,500 college scholarship from the Boys & Girls Clubs of America and will continue to compete for Regional Youth of the Year.

He served as president of the Keystone Club, BGCA’s ultimate teen program, where young men and women take on leadership roles in academic achievement, career readiness and community service. Nicholas is an accomplished athlete and was recognized as a first-team All-District in football and basketball at Abbeville High School.

Samuel “Sam” Shepardof USAG Fort Polk CYS Services, was named Louisiana Young Serviceman of the Year by the Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

Shepard receives a $2,500 college scholarship from the Boys & Girls Clubs of America and will continue to compete for regional youth of the year.

He has been a member of his club for two years and has been actively involved in volunteerism and community service in his community. Shepard will graduate in 2023 and plans to attend Stephen F. Austin State University and pursue a career as a game warden in Texas.


Comments are closed.