Dr Ralph W. Ross to become 62nd ANA President at Chicago World Money Fair



American Numismatic Association …

Voting members of the American Numismatic Association (ANA) has chosen a new president and a new vice-president and will soon welcome three new people and six incumbents to its Board of Governors for the electoral term of 2021-2023.

Incoming president Dr Ralph W. Ross and elected vice-president Joseph E. Boling will be joined by new board members Charles Morgan and Mark Lighterman, as well as the returning members Mary lynn garrett, Clifford mishler, Shanna schmidt, Michael ellis and Rob oberth.

Mary lynn garrett was the first receiver of the votes. Vice-president elect Joseph E. Boling ran unopposed. In accordance with the statutes of the ANA, ballots for uncontested positions are not counted. Only the first vote counts.

For president

  1. Ralph W. Ross, Ph.D… 2,749 votes
  2. Donald H. Kagin, Ph.D… 2,732 votes

For Life President

  1. Joseph E. Boling… 1 voice

Candidates for governor

  1. Mary Lynn Garrett… 4,165 votes
  2. Clifford Mishler… 4,111 votes
  3. Shanna Schmidt… 3,991 votes
  4. Michael Ellis… 3,989 votes
  5. Rob Oberth… 3,985 votes
  6. Charles Morgan… 3,911 votes
  7. Mark Lighterman… 3,910 votes

Candidates not elected for governor

  1. Muriel Eymery… 3,823 voices

In the event that one board member cannot fulfill his term, the second will fill the vacant seat for the remainder of the two-year term.

The new board will be sworn in at the annual meeting ANA Banquet at Aug 13, at World’s Fair of Money® in Rosemont, Ill. Ross will become the 62nd President of the Association, succeeding the current President Colonel Steven Ellsworth, who will be an ex-officio member of the board of directors without voting rights.

Donald H. Kagin lost his bid for president by a narrow margin; Muriel Eymery will be leaving the Board. After 10 years of service, Greg Lyon will be leaving the Council due to term limits.

ANA members had the option of voting by electronic or paper ballot. Out of a total of 5,560 votes, 3,720 were cast by paper ballot while 1,840 other members voted electronically, representing 33.09% of the votes cast.

The election was conducted and compiled by Election Services Corporation of Hauppauge, New York.

Overall, 19,027 ANA members had the right to vote in that election; 29.22 percent eligible voters participated.

To be able to vote, members must be at least 13 years old and have been a member of the Association for at least one year by March 31 of the year of the election.

In 2019, 19,737 members had the right to vote; a total of 6,131 votes were cast, representing 31.06 percent of eligible members.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressional, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its nearly 28,000 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its wide range of educational and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications and conventions. For more information, call (719) 632-2646 or visit money.org.

American Numismatic Association, 818 North Cascade Avenue, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903, USA, (800) 514-2646



Leave A Reply